The Governance of the Fishmongers’ Company is directed by a Court of 34 Assistants, similar to a board of trustees/directors, from which six Wardens are selected to serve for a period of six years. The Wardens are the governing body of the Company, comprising of the Prime Warden, equivalent to a Chairman of a board of trustees/directors, elected/appointed each year, and five further Wardens.

David Jones DL

Prime Warden 2019-2020

View Bio

David Robertson

Second Warden

View Bio

Nigel Bankes

Chair of the Fish & Fisheries Committee and Third Warden

View Bio

HRH The Princess Royal KG KT GCVO QSO

Fourth Warden

View Bio

Fred Stroyan

Fifth Warden

View Bio

Alderman Sir Alan Yarrow

Sixth (Renter) Warden

View Bio


The Company has six Committees which provide specialist knowledge in key areas of the Company’s management/business, assisting Court. Committees are made up of Wardens, Court Assistants and co-opted Liverymen.


The Executive is led by Clerk Toby Williamson and assisted by Deputy Clerk and Chief Operating Officer Joanna Allinson. They lead a team of 30+ staff at the Company who enable the Company to meet its core purpose of making a difference in today’s society.

Toby Williamson MVO


View Bio

Joanna Allinson

Deputy Clerk & COO

View Bio

Andrew Wallace

Fisheries Director

View Bio

Steve Maile

Finance Director

View Bio

Stay up to date with The Fishmongers’ Company newsletter